Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry at the Technical University of Munich has taken great efforts to meet the requirements of a rapidly changing scientific environment.
We offer a broad diversity of subjects: The traditional areas of Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Physical Chemistry have been enriched by Chemical Technology, Radiochemistry, Food Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, and Hydrochemistry many years ago. The last years saw new expansions into the fields of Biochemistry and Construction Chemistry. [More...]

Nobelprize for TUM-Alumnus
Prof. Joachim Frank

Space-filling model of alphaB crystallin. Cryo-electron microscopy measurements helped to elucidate the structure. (Image: Andi Mainz / TUM)

2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the development of cryo-electron microscopy

[04.10.2017] Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson today were awarded the Nobel Prize in chemistry 2017 for their groundbreaking work on the development of cryo-electron microscopy. Joachim Frank promoted in the group of Prof. Walter Hoppe, a pioneer of electron microscopy, at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). Today he is researching at Columbia University in New York. [more...]

Ten billion atoms
in rank and file

Visible to the naked eye: A wafer-thin graphene flake obtained via chemical vapor deposition. The red coloration of the copper substrate appears when the sample is heated in air. (Photo: J. Kraus/ TUM)

Faster, more precise, and more stable: Study optimizes graphene growth

[25.08.2017] Each atomic layer thin, tear-resistant, and stable. Graphene is seen as the material of the future. It is ideal for e.g. producing ultra-light electronics or highly stable mechanical components. But the wafer-thin carbon layers are difficult to produce. At the Technical University of Munich (TUM), Jürgen Kraus has manufactured self-supporting graphene membranes, and at the same time systematically investigated and optimized the growth of the graphene crystals. He was awarded the Evonik Research Prize for his work. [more...]